First Filipino Friday Post

The Filipino Book Bloggers posted some really interesting set of questions down in their blog. So I thought this would be a proper venue to air of some my odd reading quirks — and to make way for my first Filipino Friday post!😀

For this week’s Filipino Friday, I thought we could all answer some questions from the Reading Habits meme:

1. Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

Before anything else, I just want to let you know that I’m an OC book hoarder lover. As much as I can, I try to maintain the immaculate condition I’ve found a book, acquired either as new or used or borrowed from or given by a friend. Writing or highlighting books is a big NO NO for me. I would rather bother myself writing every beautiful passage from a book in a piece of paper than write in it. I know this is a tedious process, but yeah, it’s just me. That just goes to show how much I respect every book that I own. And know what, iIhave this funny notion that someday my collection will be a part of my inheritance to my children. Also, if ever I’m buying a previously loved book I would scrutinize it closely; spotting for (most specially!) creases and writings on the covers and/or the pages. If a second hand book fails to meet my standards, even if it’s a hard-to-find one, I will not buy it, thinking how despicable its previous owner was. Ahahaha!😀

2. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?

I abhor any form of mutilating a book — dog-earing and laying it flat on the table or (worse!) on the floor included. Same thing goes for tabbing or putting Post-It on the book’s pages. As is the common custom I always use a bookmark to remember in what page I stopped. I’m always using my trusty bookmark which I’ve been using for two years now.

3. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?

If a book pretty much engrosses me, I’ll read it just a fast just to reach the end of a chapter and continue on matters that scream for my attention. On the contrary, if a book is common and not that impressing, I think it wouldn’t hurt if I come back to it later on. But, as I’ve vowed, I never let go of a book, no matter how tedious and bothersome of a read it is, unfinished. Well, because I want to have my money’s worth and as part of respect to the author who has painstakingly written it.

4. Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?

I’m a one-book-at-a-time kind of person. Reading multiple books isn’t really my thing since this makes me confuse and intermix about the particulars of the book(s) I read. Believe me, my sanity in hanging by a thread and a “book-orgy” isn’t a thing that would definitely help me. Ahaha!😀

Hope my answers has given you gentle readers  enough of an idea what kind of a reader I am. No need to say it. I know, I’m horrible! :p

Incidentally, I stumbled upon this informative and somewhat funny picture of  things no to do with a book. See here.

As always, dark nights and creepy wonders!😉

11 thoughts on “First Filipino Friday Post

  1. Yahoo, I have proof someone’s even more OC than me when it comes to books!😀
    I was mulling over several topics to blog about tonight, but the meme seems fun, I think I’ll go and do this for tonight, too.

    • Thanks for dropping by once again, Blooey!🙂
      Really, am I that OC? Ahaha! Well then, why don’t we revel in our sundry idiosyncrasy? I know you’re with me when I say that being a reader is also being half as mad.😉

  2. Pingback: Filipino Friday: Reading Habits

  3. I think it would be nice should your children inherit your books that you’ve jotted some thoughts in the books that say something like …look here this is special or to the fact that you added something personal to the book. Something to let the children know that you’ve handled the book… mint condition is nice but personal touch will be more of a treasure for the kids. –Just a thought Jzhun. =]

    • To be honest Jinky I’ve really thought of that. Truth be told, I’m reserving the immaculate condition of every book that I have so that my children, who’ll one day inherit these so called “riches” of mine, will look upon them in pristine state. Maybe the jotting of personal thought and/or dedication will come much later after I’ve thoroughly known to which of my children will I bestow it to.
      Thanks for dropping by Jinky!
      Dark nights and creepy wonders!😉

  4. Ah you’ll hate me for this…but I dog-ear my books. I’m too lazy to bring out a pen and paper to take note of the quotes, so I just dog-ear them so I can remember. I remove them if I remember them, though.

    I am OC with my books but not too OC that I don’t allow myself to do stuff on my books since I own them, anyway. Wait, did that make sense? Haha what I mean is, since I own the book, I can do what I want to it…including dog-ear. Heh.😛

    I do not like laying it page down on the table or the floor, nor do I read a book without it being covered in plastic first.😛 So I guess that’s where I’m OC.😛

    • Hi Tina!🙂
      Yeah, I think we can all do whatever we want to the books that we own. I’m with you on that.
      I think it’s really just a matter of preference and convenience and no I don’t hate you for that. Ahahaha!😀 Kaartehan, ko lang talaga ‘yon.
      Like you, I also cover the books I had before reading them.

      Thanks fort dropping by Tina! See you around…😉

  5. Hey Jayson, thanks for participating in this week’s Filipino Friday! I used to be pretty OC with my books too but not anymore, I don’t NEED to wrap my books in plastic before I could read them. Although like you, I wouldn’t buy dilapidated used books even if they’re hard to find titles.

    • Hi Chachic!
      Yeah, that was a really fun and interesting set of questions you got there. I’m equally looking forward to future Filipino Friday posts. Hopefully, I can post a review of locally published books and authors to coincide to your meme.

      Thanks for dropping by Chachic!
      See you around! ;D

  6. I DON’T LIKE DOG EARING A BOOK! Even academic/schoolbooks. I feel bad when people do that. Heh. I once yelled at my college friend for dog-earing her book [hah! It’s her book anyway but I DO CARE about her book]

    • Hi Tricia!
      Yeah, dog-earing is also an irritating book habit for me. But as they said, to each one his/her own.
      Thanks for dropping by my blog!

      Dark nights and creepy wonders! ;D

Feel free to post any of your thoughts, comments, and reactions.

