The Bookshelf Project

Nothing happens the way you plan it.

That statement couldn’t have been more apt in light of how I spent my week-long holiday vacation before the calendar kissed 2010 goodbye. I know I still owe this blog some book reviews that I haven’t the time to write because of the tight work schedule last year, but something important has to make way.

Well, I openly admit that I reneged on a pledge that I will get some reading and blogging done before the 2010 ends, and there you have it Gentle Readers why basically I have no year-ender posts unlike other fantastic book blogs out there.

Petty excuse aside, what’s still keeping me all keyed up and giddy is that actually this year I reached one of my ultimate goals: To have my own bookshelf in my own room.

So now I present to you… MY BOOKSHELF!

Gah! Finally my own bookshelf!

It’s nothing much, but I just want to share the happiness right now…or else I’ll blow up! Ha! Kidding! lol But you have to take it, ain’t she a gorgeous one.

What I liked with this one is that it’s made customized in hard wood, and so spacious I can pack more books in it in comparison to ready-to-use ones that one could easily buy from home depots.

But it feels empty. So what to do next? Of course, fill it up with books!

Now here’s the most anticipated moment of all: Filling it all up with books!

I’m a very predictable person so you very well might have an inkling what books I  had put first on its shelves. What else?! Top shelf goes to one of my favorite book collections of all: My Stephen King Hardcover Book Collection.

And here they are Gentle Readers. Enjoy! wink

On the top most shelf, Stephen King's books published in the early 70s, 80s and 90s.

Below that are King's books published in the later 90s up to 2004.

On the second top most shelf King's recent published novels, some of the books on the Dark Tower Series I've collected so far and Stephen King related books on his life and works.

Beneath are some of the Mass Market Paperbacks.

Truly, a spot fit for a KING!

Behind the scene special in coming…

Before putting the books on the shelf I practically had fun piling them up, and boy, my Stephen King collection almost reached the top of the bookshelf! Pictured here is only HALF of the stack.

I have to disclose that the bookshelf is far from finished since it still needs some handle bars on the lower shelf, lock catches and some tidying up. Just take that as me being so uber-excited.

So now, Gentle Readers you have a fair idea where a good part of my money and holiday vacation was spent.

For other things that I missed blogging about, the achievement of this one goal, albeit small in ways,  do surely tops it all!

Here’s to wishing you all a HAPPY NEW YEAR and may we all achieve the goals we set for ourselves and have the best this coming year has in store for us!

As always, dark nights and creepy wonders! wink

15 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Project

  1. I love pictures of shelves. So pretty, Jzhun! And you really are a King fan.😛

    My books look very homeless compared to yours now. It won’t be until March till I have my new bookshelf with my new room. ^^

    • Hi Tina!

      Me too I love looking at other people’s books shelves and I’m always curious what kind of books they got.

      Now don’t you worry, March is just a few days away and right now I’m eagerly awaiting what you future bookshelf will look like; more so since I will get to see it in person! *excited*😀

  2. OMG you’re kidding me! I can’t believe you got a lot of King’s books too… Woah. And boy, I gotta have my own shelf too!! I’m asking my dad to put up one near the ceiling or I’ll just buy one… How much did it cost you, BTW?🙂 I’m happy you have a shelf!!! I am inspired!

    • Hi Judy!🙂

      Well then we’re not called Constant Readers for nothing without having or collecting some of Uncle Stevie’s books, ain’t we?

      Roughly, I think it cost me around 4 thousand that includes the payment for the carpenter (actually my father’s good friend), materials used like wood, paint among others.

      I’m really happy that my bookshelf inspired you to get one!

      Thanks!😉

  3. wow..i like the part when you said fit for the king…haha..I saw you have a book titled The Talisman…i have that book but I have not read it , is it good? (btw, not i feel i need to have a bookshelf as well) currently, I only have a headboard bookshelf.

    • Hullo Book Elf!🙂

      Truth be told, I haven’t read the book yet for I’m doing this arduous task reading Stephen King’s books chronologically and reading this one might take while. But most definitely I’m doing a review of this book here, so keep posted.

      Thank you for visiting and taking the time to read my humble blog!

      My warm regards and happy reading!😉

    • Hullo Ranee!

      Yeah, I highly suggest you go get one yourself. Bookshelf is our books’ home, and you just can’t compare that sense of accomplishment when you finally have one.🙂

      Thank you for visiting and taking the time to read my blog. Happy reading!😉

  4. Awesome Stephen King collection! And nice shelves!

    I’ve currently run out of shelves (six of them and counting), but I’m crossing my fingers that our home renovation finally pushes through this year so I can get some new shelving installed.

    • Hullo Blooey!

      Well, we have the same fear: running out of book shelf space. That’s why I specifically asked for a spacious one. I just don’t know maybe by the middle of the year this one will be jam-packed with books.

      Thanks for droping by!😉

    • Hullo Jofer!

      Of course, I will not be deleting your comment.

      Thanks for visiting and taking the time to read my humble blog.

      From your fellow Stephen King fan, dark nights and creepy wonders!😀

  5. Pingback: A Series of Fortuitous Events | Dark Chest of Wonders

  6. Ahhh I saw this again and I hate you for having a lot of hardcover books!!!! Hmph. Anyway, I’m looking for a hardcover, first edition of Carrie… I will buy it no matter how much is the price!!! Hahaha.🙂 Can you please help your fellow Constant Reader? Pretty please? Hahaha! Thanks and yes, I still hate you!!! HAHA

  7. Hi Judy!
    Really nice of you to look at this post once again. Well, I got to say that I can’t help you dear, I’m also looking for a copy! Ahaha!😀 But sad to say some of them fetch for quite a sum right now. Yet whaddayaknow, some copy might be lying about somewhere in a Booksale branch just waiting for the two of us. Let’s just trust FATE and whatever it bestows my dear friend.😉

    As always,
    Dark nights and creepy wonders! 😉

Feel free to post any of your thoughts, comments, and reactions.

