The Best and Worst Reads of 2010

The Best And Worst of 2010. Photo nicked from Rhett.

Last Saturday I, along with some TFG peeps and fellow book bloggers (Chachic, Tina, R E, Aaron and Kwesi), headed out to Libreria in Cubao X for the first Meet Up for the year of the Filipino Book Bloggers and also joined (read: crashed) the Flips Flipping Pages annual Best and Worst Reads of the Year.

As is usual with book clubs, the event kicked off with a small meal and I ended up liking this snack they called the cheesy chorva. lol While at it, we were also given placemats to write on our names, blog URLs and other related information about ourselves — others like Blooey did some doddling,too! — but most specially that’s were we put our best and worst reads for 2010 and it also served as a guestbook as I later learned.

Only when I entered Libreria was I made aware by the sheer number of the attendees and judging on that fact alone the event was a success. I had a great time during the discussion where each is allowed a minute to explain what’s his/her best and worst read for the previous year. It’s  really interesting to know that someone’s worst read could be easily someone’s best, or vice versa, and as they usually say, to each one his own. And talk about fierce competition and sharp strategizing, the book swap that ensued had me doubling over in laughter and was as much entertaining as the discussion was.

As for me, of course the best book for me this year is none other than Ilustrado by Miguel Syjuco. I’ll let my review of the book speak for it self which, by the way, you can read here. On the other hand, my worst read was The Valkyries by Paulo Coelho and though you Gentle Readers know how much I loved The Alchemist, I was quite disappointed because it turned out not to be what I expected. I’ll reserve my opinions for it and explain it in full in a future review of the book that I’ll be posting here in the future, so please keep posted.

As I wrap up this post I would like to give my thanks to the Flippers for graciously inviting us and letting us participate such a fun-filled event. Though I was anticipating meeting Marianne Villanueva, who couldn’t make it there because of a delayed flight, still, I had a worthwhile afternoon spent with splendid people who’s just passionate as I for the love of reading. And as I said earlier, Libreria remains the place-to-be for such bookish events!

Until the next meet up fellow bloggers, see y’all soon!😉

For other round up of the event please check out:
Chachic’s Book Nook
Coffeespoons

6 thoughts on “The Best and Worst Reads of 2010

    • It was a pleasure to see you too Ms Tarie, and thanks for the UST books you gave me. I promise the review will be up before the month of March ends.🙂

      See you some time soon!😉

    • Yes, I really made it a point to attend the first Meet Up of FBB for the year; I feel so bad not being able to make it in the past two Meet Ups last year. But here I am.

      I’m looking forward to seeing all of you again some time this March!🙂

    • Hullo Ms Honey!

      Nah, I’m just kidding there. But really I had a blast last Saturday, and let me reiterate this again: thank you for inviting us there!

      Till next time Ms Honey!😉

Feel free to post any of your thoughts, comments, and reactions.

