When Luck Comes Knocking Once Again

Lady luck seems to have left my side whenever I do book hunts these past few days, I said to a good friend via chat yesterday, and every trip to Booksale during the previous weeks yields nada. Seeing the same books placed on the exact same shelves bored me to death whenever I drop by the book store and so I decide to give it a rest, to come back some other time again.

Well, it appears that that sound self-suggestion proved effective when my foot dragged me to Booksale yesterday just to kill time at first, but in the back of my mind there’s a subconscious that dictates that maybe, just maybe, I might find “something” in case I may have just missed anything.

Indeed it’s a good thing I followed the flimsy whim of “The Voice” for the timing is just about right because the branch has recently restocked their shelves with new deliveries.

Lookey here for the awesome book haul I got for this week:

The Return of Eva Peron with the Killings in Trinidad by V.S. Naipaul 35 php (Mass Market Paperback, Vintage, 1981 Edition)

A good ole’ friend at The Filipino Group wisely said that finding a V.S. Naipaul book at every Booksale branch is like a sparse rain on a parched land; without a doubt he’s right. This is the very first Naipaul book I ever saw on my entire bookish forays at Booksale and having a cheap price of 35php I’ve got myself a nice deal here, plus I’m a sucker for book covers that says (in jet black bold letters): “This is the book you begin with if you haven’t read Naipaul before.” As it appears, yes, this is going to be my first book by the Nobel-prize winning author.

The History of Danish Dreams by Peter Høeg 35php (Hardcover, FSG, 1995 First Edition)

Since the latter part of the previous year I’ve been collecting books of this Scandinavian writer having Smila’s Sense of Snow first and Borderliners second, both of which were also bought from Booksale. As the dust jacket states this is his very first novel that made him famous throughout Denmark and Europe, well this I got to see for myself.

The Crook Factory by Dan Simmons 35php (Hardcover, First Avon Printing: March 1999)

The name Dan Simmons was the first to catch my attention when I first saw this book, but cinched the deal to make me buy this book was its intriguing premise: Hemingway as a leader, orchestrating a spy network in Cuba! And right after when I read that I was left uttering: Get out of here! Is this for real?

Zora Neale Hurston “The Complete Stories” 35php (Hardcover, Harper Collins, 1995 First Edition)

I forever owe it to Alice Walker, author of the tremendously tragic yet hopeful book about the African-American experience The Color Purple, for bringing to my attention Zora Neale Hurston’s Their Eyes were Watching God. I think after reading that novel this book of her complete short fiction will be a good companion piece.

Finding this book was the greatest surprise of the day!

Now, this book, with its unassuming somber, blue cover was the greatest surprise of the day; curious to know what it is?

Dirk Gently’s Hollistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams 70php (Hardcover, First Published in 1987 by Stoddart Publishing Co. Limited)

Well, it’s none other that the Dirk Gently Holistic Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams! For a 1987 Stoddart hardcover First Edition for 70php this — even without the dust jacket — is definitely the sweetest deal of the lot! I think this will come handy for something I’m cooking for the month of March. I’m now crossing my fingers.

So how about you Gentle Readers, what are the latest books you got for this week?

As always, dark nights and creepy wonders!😉

Feel free to post any of your thoughts, comments, and reactions.

