The 32nd MIBF Book Haul

Like all book lovers, I’m one of the many who trooped down South in SMX at SM Mall of Asia to witness the event us of the literary kind has been looking forward to since the cog of 2011 started moving: The 32nd Manila International Book Fair!

I got my first taste of MIBF the previous year and I quite admit that I’m a novice, the sluggish wolf in the pack to snatch his prospected prey (read: books) amidst experienced ones who can smell game at the onset. Still, I’m of opinion that I need to learn a lot on the art of book-hunting, especially in these events when competition (even those who you consider as friends are prospective enemies, lest they deceive you) is just nearby, breathing down your neck. As for me, the old saying “The early bird gets the early worm” proves true and effective as I was there an hour after the doors of SMX opened making me ahead of the pack. So these, my Gentle Readers, are the first book haul of my first day — Sept. 14, before going to the First Filipino Reader Conference — at the book fair. They’re great deals all:

Farewell Summer by Ray Bradbury

I haven’t read any of Ray Bradbury’s books yet, but I’m collecting some of his notable works one by one so when the time comes that the “Voice” whispers his name I got some to appease his cravings. Farewell Summer, which I got for PHP 30, is his long-awaited sequel to Dandelion Wine.

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Yes, laugh at me now, for I haven’t watched the Brad Pitt-Cate Blanchett film adaptation of this book for I have sworn to read the source material first. Got this for PHP 100 and it quite surprised me that the same edition was sold for a regular price inside the National Bookstore booth.

The Sirens of Titan by Kurt Vonnegut

Again, I haven’t read anything yet by Kurt Vonnegut, one the venerated names of the Golden Age of Science Fiction, and this, selling for PHP 30, is a nice introduction to his brand of fiction before I plunge on with his other, more recognized works.

The Mammoth Book of New Jules Adventures edited by Mike Ashley & Eric Brown

Also got this for PHP 30, and I think it is a good companion after I had read and acquainted myself more with Jules Verne.

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys

The book that made my friends crying for my blood, having purchased it at PHP 100 only; and as a nasty revenge, they rankled my patented obsessive-compulsive desire to read an authors work according to chronology as they required me to read Jane Eyre first as the former book has connections to the latter. Oh, well…

Jeanne DuPrau’s The Ember Series

Once more, haven’t seen the movie adaptation of this yet, and I’m really clueless as to what the series is about. One of the great deals as I lucked out into completing and finding all the books in the series saving me the trouble in case this one got me interested. Bought these for the following prices:

The City of Ember – PHP 75
The People of Sparks – PHP 75
The Prophet of YonWood
– PHP 100 (Hardcover 1st Ed.)
The Diamond of Darkhold
– PHP 150 (Hardcover 1st Ed.)

And here we go to the final loot of the first day that made me grin from ear to ear, the clicnher that truly makes this my lucky day: Ian McEwan books for PHP 150 each all in good, brand new condition!

First Love, Last Rites

In Between Sheets

The Cement Garden

The Comfort of Strangers

Black Dogs

exclaim ideaexclaim

If you’re a regular at the MIBF you already know that it’s unacceptable to just spend one day scrounging the stalls/booths at the book fair for some good deals, and so there I was once again, on Sept. 17, (Saturday) out in the wild. The only misgiving I have for this day is that I didn’t manage to buy the boxed set of George R R. Martin’s four books in the A Song of Fire and Ice series as NBS salespersons informed that it was already sold-out. Well, some other time then. However, the second day loot at the event sure did make up for it. Here they are:

Spud by Jon van De Ruit

A Hardcover 1st Ed. that I got for PHP 99. Alexander McCall Smith had a blurb on the front cover saying: “Spud is South Africa’s Catcher in the Rye” which got me pretty get me interested in it, plus some of my YA reading friends recommends it, so what’s the point of resisting?

The Bradbury Chronicles: The Life of Ray Bradbury by Sam Weller

For reasons quite apparent and to avoid redundancy I will not elaborate. Another Hardcover 1st Ed. that I bought for PHP 99. The Sci-Fi Goddess just blessed me with all the goodness. Yeah!

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Got this using my Scholastic Gift Certificates, and though I have read the series the bug might caught me once again when the movie adaptation of the first book draws near.

Smaller and Smaller Circles by F.H. Bacatan

Purchased this at the UP Press booth for PHP 150; a Palanca award-winning whodunit highly recommended by friends.

After the book-hunting I was happy to spend the rest of the night with some of my friends from The Filipino Group dinning out and talking about (what else?) books over a cup of coffee (or milk, as the emerging preference goes) till we went home in the wee hours of the morning. September is one really crazy month for me! So how about you Gentle Readers, what were the books that you got last week at MIBF? Hope you’re all happy with your book haul!🙂

13 thoughts on “The 32nd MIBF Book Haul

  1. Augh! I want that Jules Verne book, too!

    The matching Ian McEwan books are truly notable — it’s not easy to find a set like that.

    Based on experience, the early bird maxim proves true at the MIBF. But the last bird also gets the worm, as they put out new stock at the end of the day, too😀

    • Based on experience, the early bird maxim proves true at the MIBF. But the last bird also gets the worm, as they put out new stock at the end of the day, too😀

      I will heed this sound advice, as some of your book loot posted in you blog proves true, in the coming book fair, Blooey! Thanks!🙂

  2. I posted about my MIBF book loot here.

    Hey, you didn’t tell me I could use the GCs right there at the fair. Not a fan of Hunger Games (the first book bored me to near-death), but I’d have used them on something else from Scholastic. Have you any idea where else I could use the GCs?

  3. I didn’t know the gcs could be used at the book fair, either. I have some Scholastic gc’s unused from an event I hosted for them earlier this year.

    As far as I know, the gcs can’t be used during warehouse sale (I asked). They said the warehouse visit has to be scheduled with them.

    I’ll ask again for more details and get back to you.

  4. Pingback: Jumping the George R. R. Martin Bandwagon | Dark Chest of Wonders

  5. Pingback: General Status Update «

Feel free to post any of your thoughts, comments, and reactions.

