New Blog Feature: Read the Book, See the Film

This year has been a delightful one in so far as bookish peeps are concerned in terms of books which have been breathed with new life through film adaptations. I don’t know on which side of the fence you’re at Gentle Readers, but in so far as I can speak for myself, I do consider myself belonging to that group who enjoys watching movies based on books regardless if the latter sticks true to the spirit of former — well, it’s a new medium of storytelling after all. For me there’s just something magical in the experience of seeing a character or characters you first read on the page making the transition on a live screen. It’s at these times when the pleasure of the text transmutes into what Guillermo del Torro calls “eye protein”.

It’s been a long standing habit of mine (as well as others, I presume) to read the book first before getting to see its movie counterpart. It is from this standpoint, along with the aim to shake things up and bring this dark alley back to life, why I decided to launch another blog feature aptly called: Read the Book, See the Film.

Read the Book, See the Film is a blog feature wherein I read and review books on the occasion and in anticipation for their upcoming film adaptation.

October bodes well and provides the right timing for this set of books I’ll be reading (one’s actually a reread), particularly for this book entry that will be released, hopefully and with fingers crossed, in our country in the weeks to come. Without further ado here are the tomes (yes, two of them are “thick” that’s why I’m calling them that) bumped up in the must-be-read pile for this month:

 

    • Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – I first read this book earlier this year and I kind of rushed through it because of this erroneous article I read somewhere stating that it’ll be shown in the summer. The film was already released here in the country in the last week of September. And yes, I just finished a (obligatory) reread of the book late night Thursday making my excitement shot up to see the charming friendship of Charlie, Patrick and Sam on screen. Will Logan Lerman and Emma Watson — in her first film post-Harry Potter film role — deliver? Will Stephen Chbosky, who also directed and wrote the screenplay for the film, remain truthful and faithful to its source? One thing’s I know for sure: that hopefully after seeing the movie I want to feel infinite.
      UPDATE: Click here to read my book review!
      UPDATE: For my thoughts about the book’s movie adaptation read my Flick Jabber.

 

  • Life of Pi by Yann Martel – honestly, this book has been sitting, gathering dust in my bookshelf for years, which to me seems to be the ultimate crime to commit in face of those who see the book as the top favorite among the books awarded with the Man Booker Prize. In any case, the film, directed by the renowned Ang Lee of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon fame, must be the nudge I’ve been waiting all along to finally tackle Martel’s book about a boy and a Bengal tiger marooned on a life boat. Yes… that’s all I know about its plot; I’m quite surprised the story wasn’t spoiled by some of my friends who already read it. Maybe a part of my brain just shut down and ignored it when they started discussing it on front of my face. Haha!😀 *shrug*
    UPDATE: Click here to read my book review!

     

 

  • Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell – this book caused quite a five-starred rating storm among my friends from Goodreads | The Filipino Group no less instigated by the Mitchell Triumvirate (read: fans) of Angus, Monique and Aldrin. What once thought to be an “un-adaptable” book is in reality not so, no small thanks to the Wachowski brothers, notable for their ground-breaking work on The Matrix Trilogy, receiving accolades when it was first shown during the Toronto International Film Festival. Cloud Atlas tells six interconnected stories spanning historical to dystopian fiction with some critics lauding it as “genre bending”. Of the three, this one earns the distinction whose trailer I haven’t seen yet. Judging from the movie posters that I inadvertently saw (posted online by one the Mitchell Triumvirate perhaps?!) Hale Berry and Tom Hanks are in it. I’m quite curious which characters in the book will these Oscar Award-winners will portray. Shown in the picture are my different editions of Cloud Atlas (Cloud Atlases?). Based from the opinion of a highly-esteemed friend (Chos!), I’ll be reading the “Pink” one published in 2005 by Sceptre — for curiosity’s sake, the other edition published by Vintage is fondly called by friends as the “Pag-asa” (an acronym of the Philippine’s weather forecasting agency) edition due to one of the images (the one on the third lower part on the right) similar to a weather forecast simulation shown in most our primetime news here (LOL!). Okay, I need to end this entry now because it has too much snarky (parenthetical) asides (see!) for its own good.

 

All right, that’s all for this month’s line up of reading. I do hope I’ll finish them in time, much better in advance for I have something cooking up before October ends.

Dark nights and pleasant wonders!

14 thoughts on “New Blog Feature: Read the Book, See the Film

  1. I also reread Perks shortly before the movie came out. (I first read the book in 2009; the movie I’ve seen three times already. Haha.)

    I also intend to read Life of Pi before watching the adaptation.

    Oh, and we, that is to say, I and the rest of the Mitchell Mafia (or Triumvirate) missed you yesterday at the Cloud Atlas discussion cum fangirl/fanboy session!

    • Hi Gurl!

      You’ve already seen Perks three times?! Wow!🙂

      Yes, I was notified of the Cloud Atlas discussion, but I haven’t read the book yet in time for it. Anyways, I’m really excited to read the book and see the movie.

      I also miss fangurling over books and/or authors! LOL!😀

      Thanks for dropping by, Aldrin!

  2. I love the sound of that: “Mitchell Triumvirate” aka the “Mitchell Mafia.” Haha!

    Ditto to what Aldrin said: we missed you at the Cloud Atlas discussion last Saturday. And there were some attendees not yet done reading the book, too!

    • Hi Monique!

      The Mitchell Mafia kind of sound appropriate too; well, judging by how you remind (accost?) other people that they sometimes lack the star rating(s) going to the right. Hee hee…😀

      “And there were some attendees not yet done reading the book, too!”

      Well you know me; there’s just something missing if I’ll attend a discussion by not reading the book first hand and not being able to talking about it — at length!

      Thanks for visiting, Monique!🙂

  3. Wow. This is a promising project. Mostly the portrayal on the big screen falls short on the high expectations of people who are familiar with the written work. As for me, I’d give an allowance in favor of the movie tie-ups. I find it quite impossible to condense everything written in a book into a 90-minute motion picture. Anyway, I hope Life of Pi will be good on-screen.🙂

    • Hi Jace!

      Indeed, readers must know that a book is not a film and a film is not a book. It’s like apples and oranges really, in that they have different flavors, but you get to enjoy them just the same. I hope you get my analogy.🙂

      Here’s do hoping that Ang Lee will make (at least) a decent adaptation of Life of Pi! Cheers!

      Thanks for taking the time to read and visit my blog, Jace!😉

  4. Hi, Jzhun! What an excellent idea! And I like the order — read first and then see the movie. I find it difficult to read a book after I’ve seen the movie adaptation, no matter how many times people tell me that the book is way, way different from the movie.

    • Hi Peter!

      I’m also having the same problems especially with book that’s been recently adapted to film that haven’t known just yet (at most near the time of its release in cinema) or out of my radar. And yes, I find myself guilty if I make it a point to see the movie and not care to read the book first. It’s a nagging feeling, really. I’m happy to know that I’m not the only one to (sort of) feel that.

      Thanks for dropping by, Kyusi Reader!😉

  5. Weee you’re blogging again!🙂

    Of the three books in your list, I have yet to read Cloud Atlas. I recently found a copy (finally!) from Booksale (the pink one) and I will try to squeeze it in amidst Pride and Orejudice and Anna Karenina which I will be reading this month. Good luck to me! Haha!🙂

    I love this blog feature, by the way. Congratulations! keep those blog posts coming!😉

    • Hi Lynai!

      I do hope you can find the time to read Cloud Atlaas even if you’re tackling two formidable chunksters especially in time for its release in the cinemas.

      And yay for the pink edition! Of the two, I this one has the best design in my opinion.

      Thanks for welcoming me back after a long blogging hiatus, Lynai!😉

  6. Pingback: Flick Jabber, Where I Yammer and Yatter About Films «

  7. Pingback: Flick Jabber: The Perks of Being a Wallflower «

  8. Pingback: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky «

  9. Pingback: Life of Pi by Yann Martel | Dark Chest of Wonders

Feel free to post any of your thoughts, comments, and reactions.

